Quality Assurance & Accreditation

Quality Assurance

The Senate is the University’s primary academic decision-making body, with overall responsibility for approving and reviewing academic programs, academic quality assurance, approving academic awards, and for directing and controlling the form and content of education provided by means of regulations.

We have a well-developed and comprehensive quality assurance (QA) system to ensure the high caliber of teaching and academic probity of our programmes. The Faculty Board (FB) which is formally a committee of Senate, is charged with overseeing the Undergraduate Studies Committee (USC), Taught Postgraduate Studies Committee (TPSC), Faculty Teaching Learning & Teaching Committee (FLTC) and the Faculty Research Committee (FRC).

The USC and TPSC are chaired by the Associate Dean with the responsibility of overseeing academic issues and related QA matters, and making recommendations on programme achievements to the FB.

The overall academic and operational responsibilities and the development of our programmes are watched over by different Programme Committees (PCs), led by a Program Leader/Director. Each PC is required to submit an annual programme review of the programme to the USC/TPSC as part of the Annual QA exercise, for the final scrutiny by the FB.

The Faculty Research Committee (FRC) is charged with overseeing research-related matters, e.g. maintaining the academic standard and the development of research degrees (MPhil and PhD). It draws on the input of the Departmental Research Committees (DRCs) of the three school/departments of the Faculty, and reports to the University's Research Committee (RC).

The Faculty is currently accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), the EFMD Quality Improvement System (EQUIS), and a range of professional bodies. These external accreditation processes all provide further support for continuous improvement in achievement of our programme outcomes.

Academic standards are also guaranteed with the appointment of advisors from prominent overseas universities.


AACSB Logo The Faculty of Business was accredited by AACSB International (The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) in 2010 in recognition of our business education.
EQUIS Logo The Faculty of Business was accredited by EQUIS (EFMD Quality Improvement System) in 2007 in recognition of our programmes, research and associated activities.